Athea Golf Society

Draw for competition at Shannon on Saturday March 22

11.08   T. White,     G. McEnroe,     D. White

11.16   S. Reidy,      A. Keogh,          C. Cohalan

11.24   D. de Barra,  Ed O ‘Connor,  G. Tuohy

11.32   B. Crowley,  T. Murphy,    W. O’Sullivan

11.40   J. Redmond,  R. Ryan,    T.J. Reidy

11.48   C. Deveau,  M. O’Connor,  J. Scanlon

12.06  C. Griffin,  J. Halpin


Athea United Soccer

U10 DIVISION 4 (Saturday, March 8th)
Glantine        (0) 2
Athea Utd      (2) 4    Conor Mullane, Daire O’Shea, Killian O’Connor (2)

Team: Gavin Mulvihill, James Broderick, Gearoid O’Sullivan, Calum Gleeson, Michael Walsh, Daire O’Shea, Fergal Pierce, Callum Buckley, Conor Mullane, Killian O’Connor, James Lee, Evan Curry

U14 CUP 1st ROUND (Saturday, March 8th)
Athea Utd                (1) 2   Daniel McEldowney (2)
Abbeyfeale Utd B   (0) 0

Team: Shane Ambrose, Seamus Leahy, David O’Sullivan, Andy Ahern, Ryan O’Connell, Jason Dillon, John Sexton, Micah O’Connell, Cathal O’Brien, Daniel McEldowney.
Referee Pat O’Donnell.

PREMIER DIVISION (Sunday, March 9th) (played in Athea)
Shannonside A    (0) 0
Athea Utd A        (1) 2    Dylan Griffin, Cillian O’Connor

Team: Pa Ahern, Shane Mulvihill, Mathew Tierney, Tom Collins, Jamie Collins, Maurice Hayes, Gerard Ahern, Kevin O’Keeffe, Dylan Griffin, Kevin Murphy, Cillian O’Connor. Subs Martin Chawke, Mark O’Connor.
Referee Pat O’Connor.

DIVISION 2 (Sunday, March 9th)
Athea Utd B      (0) 2   Mark Horgan, John Geoghegan
Adare Utd         (0) 1

Team: Colm Hassett, Gary Carroll, Sean McGrath, Mike Reidy, Raymond Brouder, John Geoghegan, Pa Chawke, Eoghan Nash, Emmet White, Steven McEnery, Mark Horgan. Sub Tom Murphy.
Referee Eoin Barrett.

Saturday, March 15th
U12s away to Pallaskenry at 11.30am.
Sunday, March 16th
Junior As away to Glin Rvs in the Desmond Cup at 2.30pm.
All players / parents please check with their respective managers with any queries regarding times for the coming weeks.


Our second Last Man Standing Competition is now up and running with week four now complete. Last weekend we had 37 still in contention but with 5 fallers we are now down to 32 players still standing. Prize money is €300 and is generously being sponsored by Brown Joe’s Bar, Athea and the club would like to thank Tommy O’Grady for the sponsorship. There is also a sellers prize of €50 for the person that sells the winning line.

The results of our weekly lottery draw held on Monday, March 10th at Donie’s are as follows
Jackpot was €12,900. Numbers drawn 13, 21, 23, 26.  No jackpot winner.
Lucky dips to the following – Mary Condon, Croom. Catherine Hartnett, Newcastle West. PJ Meehan, Listowel.  Marie O’Connor, Croom. Gerard Kinsella, Limerick.
Sellers Agatha & Clare Ryan.
New Jackpot will be €13,000 on Tuesday, March 18th at White’s Bar.
Tickets €2 each or three for €5

Athea GAA


West Senior Football:

Monday March 17:

Athea will play Adare in the West Senior Football Championship on Monday March 17 in Askeaton at 12 noon.

Best of Luck:

The Club would like to wish the best of luck to Jack Denihan and the Templeglantine Hurlers who will play Holycross/Ballycahill in this years All Ireland Junior B Hurling final on Sunday next. Time and venue to be confirmed.


Athea Coiste na nÓg: 


There was double celebrations in the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday last as the Limerick Senior footballers and hurlers beat both Wexford teams in their respective leagues. The hurlers were up first and were pushed all the way by Wexford. A Graeme Mulcahy goal helped them to a four point lead at half-time and with five minutes remaining Limerick had a five point lead. A late Wexford goal meant a nervy last couple of minutes but they held out on a score line of Limerick 1-14 Wexford 2-08. The footballers were up next and even though they raced into a three point lead they found themselves five points down at the break and facing their third defeat of the league. The introduction of John Galvin at half-time proved crucial as he helped Limerick claw their way back into the game. Deep into injury time and two points down Seamus O’Carroll drilled the ball across the goal mouth and Ian Ryan was at hand to punch the ball to the net to give Limerick their second win of the league on a score line of Limerick 1-14 Wexford 1-13.