Athea United Soccer

PREMIER LEAGUE CUP Q/F (Sunday, December 8th)
Athea Utd A      (2) 3  Gerard Ahern (2), John Cotter
Rockhill Rvs     (1) 1

The As reached the semi-final of the premier division league cup after a deserved win at home to Rockhill Rovers on Sunday morning last. We atoned for the loss away to Ballingarry in the league the previous Sunday with a solid win though we played poor enough in the second half. We were two one up at the break with Gerard Ahern getting both goals from open play while the Rockhill goal was very careless as we lost possession far too cheaply and this allowed their winger to set up their striker for an easy finish. The second half was scrappy and it wasn’t until three minutes from time we made the game safe when Kevin O’Keeffe broke down the right and squared for sub John Cotter to fire home from close range. We now await the semi-final draw.
Team: Pa Ahern, Ryan Carroll, Mathew Tierney, Padraig Reidy, Tom Collins, Maurice Hayes, Shane Mulvihill, Gerard Ahern, Conor Mullane, Kevin Murphy, Kevin O’Keeffe.
Sub Conor Mullane.
Referee Donie O’Gorman.

REIDY CUP 2nd ROUND (Sunday, December 8th)
Askeaton         (0) 2
Athea Utd B    (2) 4    Mike Twomey, Steven McEnery, Cillian O’Connor, Sonny Sheehan

The Bs progressed to the quarter finals of the Reidy Cup after a deserved four two win away to Division 1 side Askeaton last Sunday morning with only their second win of the season. The other win was in the first round, a three nil win at home to Creeves Celtic. We were up two nil at half time through Mike Twomey and Steven McEnery with Cillian O’Connor and  Sonny Sheehan on target in the second half.
Team: Tom Murphy, Colm Hassett, Cillian O’Connor, Sean McGrath, Raymond Brouder, Beanie, Mike Twomey, Dylan Griffin, Sonny Sheehan, Steven McEnery, Emmet White.  Sub John Geoghegan .
Referee Pat O’Donnell.
U/11 CUP 1st ROUND Athea Utd got walkover from St Itas (Saturday, December 7th)
Saturday, December 14th
U12s away to Mountcollins at 11.30am.
U16s home to Creeves Celtic at 11am.
Sunday, December 15th NO JUNIOR GAMES
The club are once again running the very popular Last Man Standing Competition. Last week there was a full programme of midweek fixtures in the Premier League and for this we had six in contention but after Wednesday night we were down to four players which brought us on to last weekend’s games. We had four still standing but three fell leaving one standing and that was Tadgh Culhane from Glin who wins the €300 prize money which is being sponsored by The Top of the Town and the club would like to thank Betty and Johnny for the sponsorship. The sellers prize of €50 goes to Pat Mulvihill who sold the winning line. The club would like to again congratulate Tadgh on winning the €300 prize and The Top of the Town, Athea for sponsoring the Last Man Standing competition. This is greatly appreciated by Athea Utd. Plans are already underway for the next the Last Man Standing competition so watch this space

The results of our weekly lottery draw held on Monday, December 9th at Donies are as follows:
Jackpot was €11700. Numbers drawn 6, 18, 22, 31. No Jackpot winner.
Lucky dips to the following –

John O’Sullivan, Knockagorna. Michael O’Connor Jnr, Glenagragra. Roisin Kinsella, Limerick. Christina Healy, Ballaugh. Eddie Barrett, Markievicz Park.
Xmas draw winner

€50 Michael O‘Connor, Tarbert.

Doreen & Denis Murphy.
New Jackpot will be €11800 on Monday, December 16th at White’s Bar.

Athea GAA

Club Draw:

Our final Club draw for this year will take place in Paul Collins bar this Saturday night December 14 at 10.30pm. Thank you to everyone that has supported the draw.

Club Membership:

For those who have not yet become members of Athea GAA Club they can still do so. This is a great way of supporting the Club at only a cost of €20 for the year. The GAA has the largest membership of any sports organisation in Ireland. When one becomes a member of a GAAclub, they become part of the GAA family and part of a great community based organisation that continues to enhance the lives of so many people both young and old.

West Intermediate Medal Presentation:

Athea Intermediate footballers will be presented with their West Intermediate Championship medals on Saturday night December 21 at the Top of the Town. There will be hot food served on the night. All are welcome.

Old Photographs of Athea GAA:

The Club are still looking for any old photographs or match programmes from anyone that has them in the parish. Photographs from days gone by of underage teams up to Senior level, GAA Parish Socials or any photographs with a connection to the GAA club will be scanned and saved digitally,  then returned to the owner. Contact John Hunt, Lal Browne or Jacqueline O’ Connor for further details.

Athea Coiste na nÓg:

Medal Presentation:

A large crowd attended our U14 and U15 medal presentation night at the Con Colbert Community hall on Sunday night last. MC for the night was secretary John Hunt, who welcomed everyone to the hall.

Chairman Paul Curry congratulated both teams on their success and he hoped that this would continue in future years at minor, U21 and Intermediate level. Tom Collins spoke on behalf of the coaches, he thanked all the players for their commitment at training and at matches. Tom also thanked the parents for their loyal support travelling all around the county to attend their matches. Our guest on the night was Limerick Senior footballer John Riordan, he congratulated Athea Coiste na nÓg on their great achievements throughout the year. John also spoke of the importance of training with the club and practising at home with a friend or just kicking the ball against the wall. John then presented the medals to both of our successful teams.

Afterwards their coaches Tom Collins, Morgan O’ Connor and Denis Sheahan were presented with a token in appreciation of their commitment to both teams this year. Delicious hot food was served shortly afterwards to everyone in the hall and many thanks to Lorraine Mulvihill, Tina Byrne, Charmaine Ambrose and Kathleen Ambrose for the great work they did on the night. Thank you also to the Tim Somers, the hall committee, Leo Geoghegan, Gerry Griffin, Michael Reidy, Pat O’ Sullivan and Niall King. Many thanks to John Riordan for attending and making it such an enjoyable night. We are now looking forward to next year and hoping to see all these boys back in action for the maroon and white.