By Tom Aherne

The death has occurred of Mary Conway, nee Roche, Norwood Park, Limerick and formerly of Coolcappa and late of the Shannon Shamrock Hotel on Friday, May 28, (suddenly) at her residence. Predeceased by her brother John Roche and sister-in-law Mary Neville. A private Requiem Mass for family only, took place on Thursday, June 3 at 11.00am in St. Brigid’s Church, St. Patrick’s Road. Followed by the funeral afterwards to Shannon Crematorium, Shannon, Co. Clare. Sympathy to her husband Michael, sister Julia Hassett (London), brothers-in-law John Conway, Edward Banks, Denis Murphy and Christy Neville, sisters-in-law Aileen Banks, Brenda Murphy and Dolores Conway, nephews, nieces, the extended Roche and Conway families, kind neighbours and friends.  May She rest in Peace.

Mass is celebrated in Saint Kyran’s Church, Coolcappa on Tuesday  at 9.30am, Thursday 9.30am, and Saturday at 7.30pm. Mass is celebrated in Saint Colman’s Church Kilcolman on Wednesday at 9.30am, Friday 7.30pm, and Sunday at 10am.

The Desmond College Newcastle West Transition Year awards were presented recently. Congratulations to Emma O’Shea who received the Student of the Year Award. Congratulations to all other award winners in all the local schools. Good luck to all students who begin their Leaving Certificate exams shortly.

Limerick were defeated by Offaly 3-12 to 2-10 in Division 4 B of the Ladies National Football League at Tullamore on Sunday, May 30. The Old Mill supplied three players to the team Sophie Hennessy, Roisín Ambrose 0-1, and Iris Kennelly 0-1.

Róisín Ambrose, Ardagh and the Newcastle West camogie club was a member of the Limerick senior  team  that lost to Kilkenny  by 2-10 to 0-13 in the quarter final of Division 1 of the Camogie League at Birr.

The Ardagh Voluntary Housing AGM will take place on Thursday, June 10, at 8pm. People interested in attending are asked to contact Michael Ambrose on 085-1742904, and new members are welcome.

The Ardagh Development Association and Saint Kieran’s GAA joint weekly lottery draw took place on Monday, May 31. The numbers drawn were 3, 9, 19, and 27, and there was one winner of the €5,900 Jackpot. Congratulations to Pat O’Connor, Carrigkerry, c/o Moloney’s Shop who matched the numbers, and scooped the jackpot. Congratulations to the five lucky dip winners who received €40 each: M and D Kiely, Ardagh, c/o Sean Downey, Brendan Meehan, Ballycullen Askeaton, Pa Leahy, Creeves (online), Grace Hennessy, Ballyine (online) and Patricia McCarthy Askeaton. Next Monday night’s jackpot will  be €3,000. People can play online using club force on the club’s Facebook page, with 6pm on Monday evening the deadline. The tickets are also on sale at the usual outlets, and all support will be appreciated.

Creeves Celtic  held their split the pot draw on Monday, May 31 .Congratulations to Marie Hogan, who won €110. The weekly   entry fee is €2, with €1 going to the club and the other €1 to be paid out in prize money each week. The envelopes to place your two euro in plus details, are available at Hanley’s Food Store Creeves, and from committee members.  People can also sign up by standing order for €9 per month. The  draws will be held on Monday nights, and all support will be appreciated.

Congratulations to Tom Ryan Ballybrown and a great supporter of the Radio Station who won €440 in the West Limerick 102fm 50/50 draw, held on Friday, June 4. The tickets cost €2 and they are available from volunteers, in local shops, (including Moloney’s Carrigkerry, and Denis Greaney’s Shop Ardagh) or from the radio station. All support will be appreciated as finances are tight due to lack of fundraising. The radio station is off limits to members of the public at present, with only volunteers allowed access. When restrictions are lifted all will be very welcome to visit and get involved in programming. A number of exciting new programmes are in the pipeline for later in the year. The station can be contacted at 069-66200 if people have news of interest to the West Limerick area.

Saint Kieran’s defeated Glin by 1-5 to 0-5 in the West senior football final at Askeaton on Sunday, October 18, 1974. Saint Kieran’s had the edge all through over their traditional opponents. The club had now completed  the grand slam of Western titles in senior junior, and under 21 football for 1974. The Limerick Weekly Echo reported the following: Saint Kieran’s made history last Sunday when before a record gate (£700) in Askeaton they claimed their first ever West senior football championship title, after defeating Glin their old rivals. Glin had the advantage of the elements  in the first half, but after 10 minutes  it became obvious that their forwards were going to find it difficult to score. The exception was left half forward Donie Geoghegan who scored all their points.

Glin, who were trailing by  a point at the break did well in the second half but were unable to master the well organised defence and midfield superiority of Saint Kieran’s. The winners goal came about ten minutes before the interval and was scored by Tommy Greaney, undoubtedly, Saint Kieran’s best forward and it came as a result of a bad clearance. The game was a little robust at times but was very well handled by referee Sean O’Connor Claughaun.

There were tremendous  scenes of enthusiasm when West Board chairman Timmy Woulfe presented the cup to winning captain Pa Leahy. TEAM Patsy Nolan, Maurice Windle, Moss O’Connor,  Donie Enright, Stephen Murphy, Tom Larkin, John Windle,  Tim Crowley, John Hartnett 0-1, Mike Moran,  Pa Leahy 0-3, Chris O’Connor, John Keane, Johnny Kennelly, Tommy Greaney 1-1.  Sub Jerry Martin.

Saint Kieran’s GAA Club will celebrate the 50th anniversary of its formation in 2022. The above win will form part of this history which will chronicle all grades and areas of the club. The work is progressing despite the drawbacks of Covid -19, and members who would like to contribute  articles relating to the history are asked to do so as soon as possible, as a lot of material has already being sourced and late arrivals may not be included.

The Old Mill Sports Club was set up at a meeting  at Bill and Nora O’Connell’s Pub on Friday June 14, 1991.The following committee was put in place Chairman: Bill O’Connell, Vice Chairman: Dan Mulcahy, Secretary: Siobhan Doody, Assistant Secretary:  Eileen Ambrose,  Treasurer: Ann Barry, Assistant Treasurer: Mary Hennessy, PRO: Denis Heffernan, Assistant PRO:  Pat Downes, Committee:  Michael Ambrose, Jerry Doody, Paddy O’Connor,  Tom Danagher, Jim Kelly,  Steven Nugent and PJ McGrath. At the next meeting a finance committee, and a field committee was formed. The membership fee was set at £5 per family, and £5 per adult over 16 years. A field was rented nearby and soccer training was commencing under John Keane on Friday evenings.

Thirty years ago in June 1991 Windle’s Bar, Glensharrold, Carrigkerry changed ownership after many years of business. The new owners were Neily and Christina Brouder also from Glensharrold.