By Tom Aherne

Congratulations to James McCormack Ardagh, and the former Commodore of Foynes Yacht Club, who received the President’s Award in the RDS in Dublin on Friday, February 8. It was presented by Jack Roy, President of Irish Sailing, for his outstanding contribution and leadership of Foynes Yacht Club over many years. This is a great honour  to be recognised nationally for James who spearheaded the building of the Marina/Pontoon at a fifth of the projected cost.

The death has taken place of Joan Collins, née Burns, of Park, Ballyhahill, and formerly of Reen’s, Ardagh and wife of the late Mike. She lay in repose in Madigan’s Funeral Home, Shanagolden on Saturday,  February 9 from 6pm, followed by removal to St Colman’s Church Kilcolman. The Requiem Mass was celebrated  on Sunday at 12 noon with burial afterwards in the local cemetery. We extend our sympathy to  sons Con and Michael, daughters Sheila  and Nora, brothers and  twin sister Maureen, aunt Mary, grandchildren, nephews, nieces, brother in law, relatives and friends. May she rest in Peace.

The organisers of the Church gate collection in aid of St Vincent’s Lisnagry would like to thank the collectors, and all who contributed to their recent collection.

The following are the Lottery results from Moore’s Bar, Carrigkerry on Monday, February 11. The numbers drawn were 6,9,20, and 26 and there was no Jackpot winner. Congratulations to the five lucky dip winners who won €40 each: Tom O’Connor, Lisbane, Shanagolden, Johnny O’Sullivan, Cullinagh, Newcastle West, Seamus Byrnes c/o Reens Bar, Mairead and Damien, Ardagh, and Maurice Harnett, Ardagh . Next week’s Jackpot will be €14,800 and the draw will be held in Neary’s Bar Ardagh.

Darragh Treacy and Sean Mc Sweeney (3 points) from the Saint Kieran’s club were members of the Limerick team that were defeated  by Wicklow  by 2-8 to 1-6 in the National Football League Division 4 match at Aughrim on Sunday, February 10. Róisín Ambrose  was on the UL panel that won the Ashbourne Cup at Mallow Sports Complex on Sunday February 10. They defeated UCC by 3-8 to 0-8 in the final. Roisin from the Newcastle West camogie club saw action in the semi-final win over DCU. Saint Kieran’s lost to Drom /Broadford 8-21 to 2-4 in round 1 of the West U-21 Hurling Championship at Mountcollins on Saturday, February 9. The proceeds from the Road Hurling Competition will be presented at Ardagh Hall on Saturday, February 23 at 12 noon.

The St Kieran’s club are operating a new online membership facility this year, which also includes the Limerick GAA Club draw. They are appealing to as many players and members to avail of it as soon as possible, to get a database in place before the season commences. They are adopting a strict no membership paid no Limerick tickets policy this year, after going above and beyond their duty last year to cater for people who requested tickets. Tickets will be in high demand for all Limerick matches this year, so if people are planning on attending, they need to pay their club membership. All the details and how to join can be found on the St Kieran’s Facebook page.

Carrig Celtic defeated Kildimo Utd 2-1 away in the Desmond Premier League on Sunday, February 10. Killian Enright and Seanie King scored the goals that pushed them up the table. Creeves Celtic had no match. In Division 1 of the Desmond Ladies League Creeves Celtic defeated Askeaton 2-1 at home with goals from Sandra Larkin, and Shannon Ruttle.

Congratulations to Mike McQuinn and Catherine Kiely who were prize winners at the Flag Floor card game held on Wednesday, February 6.

The Old Mill ladies football club held their AGM in Ardagh Hall on Friday, February 8. Triona Ambrose the Chairperson welcomed all and the various reports were presented and discussed. The following officers were elected for 2019. Chairperson Triona Ambrose, Vice Chairperson Timmy O’Donoghue, Secretary Deirdre Ambrose, Assistant Secretary Moira Mc Enery, Treasurer Margaret Upton, Assistant Treasurer Ann Geraghty, Child Welfare Officers Jill Liston, and Sheila Lee, PRO Moira Mc Enery, Committee John Liston, Pat Lee, Ciara Mann, John Doyle, Tommy Carr, Seamus Callaghan, Pat Horgan. Mentors for the various age group teams were also put in place apart from the minor grade. The club are looking forward to a successful year and we wish them well.

A fundraising Céilí in aid of Saint Gabriel’s  Children’s Respite House will be held in Mungret GAA Clubhouse on Friday, February 22 at 9pm. Music by Taylor’s Cross Céilí Band and all support will be greatly appreciated.

The West Limerick GAA All Star Awards function will be held at Rathkeale House Hotel on Friday February 22. An impressive list of award winners has been announced including three locals, Johnny McCarthy from Saint Kieran’s will receive the Senior Football Award. John Hayes Saint Kieran’s will receive the U-21 A Football Award. Roisín Ambrose Old Mill will also be honoured for being a member of the Limerick Junior Football team who won the All Ireland.

The Limerick County Senior Scór Finals will be held on Saturday February 23 at 7.30 pm at Askeaton Community Hall. This is the 50th anniversary of Scor and Saint Kieran’s have enjoyed much success especially in the early years. It would be great to see the club represented this year to mark the anniversary of Scór which has provided so much entertainment down the years.

Saint  Kieran’s GAA Club are holding a medal presentation night in the Ballintemple Inn Newcastle West on Saturday, February 23. Receiving their medals will be the senior footballers, and the Under 21 A footballers  who won West titles in 2018 and the Under 21 B footballers who won the County title in 2017. The club will also cast their mind back 45 years to 1974 which was one of the most successful ever in their history.  West titles were won in senior, junior, and under 21 football and all three  teams went on to contest County finals. The junior team were successful defeating Monaleen by 2-5 to 2-4 at Bruff on December 15. A special presentation will be made to the winning panel of players.

Congratulations to Mattie Roche Castlemahon village who won €220 in the West Limerick 102fm 50/50 draw, held on Friday February 15 .Tickets cost €2 and they are available from volunteers, in local shops, or from the radio station. All support is very much appreciated.