Athea GAA


The A.G.M. of Athea GAA took place on Sunday evening at Páirc na nGael clubhouse. There was a good crowd in attendance. Pat O’Sullivan read the secretary’s report and Derek Byrne the treasurer’s report. The Club’s debt at the moment is €47,000, but fundraising in 2019 will hopefully bring it down and considering the brilliant facility we now have e.g. pitch, gym and track it’s fantastic. Paul Curry (Chairman) thanked everyone for their support in 2018 – ticket sellers, those who bought tickets, David & Jacqueline O’Connor for their work with Coiste along with John Hunt, and all those who worked on the pitch and erected the lighting. The ‘63/’68 commemoration night was the ‘highlight’ of the club in 2018 and DVDs are still available at Collins’ Shop. The Ladies Club were complimented for their efforts during the year and the ‘Mothers and Others’ welcomed on board also.

It was great news that Denis Greaney is now training with the County team – for which he is congratulated. Mag O’Connor, as always, “the jersey washer woman”-so many thanks to so many who help out in one way or another. Paul Curry hopes that when the older players finish with their football days that the 17,18,19 year olds will take their place – sport for our younger people is so important.

The following were the officers elected:

Chairman: Paul Curry, Secretary: Pat O’Sullivan, Assistant Secretary: Jacqueline O’Connor, Treasurer: Derek Byrne. Assistant Treasurer: Roger Ryan, P.R.O.: Kathleen Mullane, Assistant P.R.O.: Mark Reidy, Registrar: Kevin O’Keeffe & Jacqueline O’Connor, Children’s Officer: Jacqueline O’Connor, Scór Officer: John Joe Tierney & John Hunt, Co. Board Delegates: David O’Connor & Seán Ahern. Committee Members: John Hunt, Mike O’Connor, Neddy Hunt, Conor Hunt, Jamesie O’Connor, Declan Dalton, Seamus Ahern & Mark Reidy. Séamus O’Donnell will be Intermediate trainer for the coming year.

The player’s representative for  2019 will be the incoming team captain. Votes of sympathy were extended to all those who lost a loved one in 2018. It is hoped in the New Year to have a meeting re: the starting off of a hurling team for Athea Club. If you want to be a member of the Athea Club you can still pay your membership of €20 per person or €10 for O.A.P.s. If you want to be in with a chance of winning an All Ireland ticket, or such, you have to be a member of Athea GAA. The A.G.M. closed with teas/coffees etc and thanks to Pat O’Sullivan for providing same. Paul Curry thanked Pat and Derek for al their help throughout 2018.

Athea Utd Soccer

U16 Div 2 Shield Final (Sat, December 8th)

Athea Utd (3) 7   (Conor Shine 4, Paul O’Donnell 2, Hugh O’Donnell)  Mountcollins (0) 1 

Team – Colin Broderick, Luke Gleeson, Thomas McEnery, Gavin Ambrose, Andrew O’Riordan, Michael Tierney, Hugh O’Donnell, Paul O’Donnell, Eoin O’Shea, Conor Shine, Aidan Curry. Subs TJ Hunt, Paric Enright, Daire O’Shea, Shane Scanlon, Eoin Sheahan, Padraic O’Connor.

Referee John Roche.

Junior Div 1 League (Sun, December 9th)

Ballysteen (2) 3

Athea Utd (2) 4     (Cillian O Connor 2, James Ryan, Ger Collins)

Team – Mareks Shah, Mathew Tierney, Mike Reidy, Jack Denihan, Padraig Reidy Ger Collins James Ryan Gerard Ahern Cillian O Connor, Darren Murphy, David O Conor, Subs Cillian Liston, William Cronin,

Referee JP Murphy

The results of our weekly lottery draw for Monday, December 10th are as follows – Jackpot was €5,500.

Numbers drawn    2, 5, 10, 24

No Jackpot Winner.
Lucky dips to the following – €50 Xmas Dip– Madeline Herbert, Ballyhahill

Usual lucky dips to  Johanna O’Connor, Ardagh, Mary & Pat c/o Collins Bar, Nora Mahoney, Markievicz Park, Tom Stackpoole, Athea, Julia Dunworth Templeglantine,

Sellers  – Top of the Town, Pa Walsh
New Jackpot €5,600 at  Collins’ Bar on Monday, December 17th