Athea GAA

500 Club Draw:

The 4th leg of the GAA Club draw was held on Friday night last at Donies’. The following were the lucky winners:

€500-Patsy Walsh, Ballyhahill

€150-Billy & Peggy Casey, The Village

€150-Paddy Collins, Knocknagorna

€100-Sean & Margaret Fitzgerald, Coole

€100-Paul Curry, Lower Dirreen

€100-Pa Kiely & Neilo Keane

€100-Jer Keane, Kilmorna

€100-Bernie Fitzpatrick, c/o Pa Aherne

€50 Seller’s Prize-Roger Ryan.


Also at Donie Lyons’ on Friday night the U21s were presented with their medals from last year’s final against St. Senan’s.

Walking Track:

The walking/running track is being put to full use these evenings. As it’s getting darker and many are wary of the traffic on the roads at dusk and using the track even with their flashlights/phones. Hopefully, in the not too distant future lighting will be erected around the track which will enable everyone to walk/run with extreme ease and safety.


If anyone has photos or GAA news from the past year, Domhnall and Lillian are preparing for this year’s journal and would be glad of all news items.


The GAA progressive 41 card game will recommence after the summer break on Monday night, October 16th at 9 p.m. in Brown Joe’s. All old and new players welcome including lapsed and inexperienced card players for a fun night out. We will be strict on starting time so as to be finished every night for 11 o clock.

Best 15 since 1982:

The club are currently putting in place plans to pick the best fifteen players to play for Athea from 1982 up to the present day. Everyone knows all about the County senior winning team of 1968 who were honoured before, and will be again in 2018, for the 50th anniversary, but we have had many fine teams and players since then who have brought glory to the parish. The task of picking a best fifteen from this period is no easy task, so we hope to enlist the help of the public who witnessed the performances of these great players over the years. As a guide to who might be in the running for such a star studded team, how many of the team that won the west Junior football title in 1982, the clubs first Adult championship title since ’68, would be included. That panel was-

Tom Stackpoole, Tommy Denihan, Conor Mullane, Tommy White, Tom Flahavin, Pius Collins, Stephen Reidy, John McAuliffe, TJ Reidy, Tommy Quaid, Tom (T) Scanlon, Mike Woulfe, Seamus McNamara, Tony McNamara, Noel Barry, Billy O’Connor, Bill McAuliffe, John Liston, Mike McAuliffe, Tommy Carroll, Pati Higgins and Leo Geoghegan.

Other Title winning teams were West Junior in 1987, 1989, 1997. County Junior in 1997, County Intermediate in 2002 and 2005, West Senior in 2001 and 2003, West U21 in ’94,’95 and ’96 and County U21 in ’95. We also contested the County Senior final in 2003.

From these teams and many players it will be very difficult to narrow it down to 15, so get out the pen and paper and start getting your selections down as there will be a public voting process to assist the panel of judges to pick the final team. More details next week.

Coiste na nÓg:


School Team:

The Athea N.S football team lost to Monagea in a rip roaring game on Friday last in Athea. Athea played their best football in the second half against the wind and were very unlucky not to get a draw. Despite this loss, they should still qualify for the semi-final. Panel: Tomás Ahern, James Hunt, Evan Curry, Calum Gleeson, Fergal Pierse, Conor Mullane, Callum Buckley, Fionn Histon and James Broderick, subs: Rory Cleary, Tadhg Ahern, Timmy O’Keeffe, Ciaran Hunt and Callum O’Mahony.


Our U8s took part in the Nigel Buicke Annual Football Tournament hosted by Feohanagh/Castlemahon on Sunday evening last. We played Mountcollins in the first game and after a slow start our boys and girls played some brilliant football in the second half, but unfortunately Mountcollins held on to win by a couple of points. We then played Castlemahon, but despite another excellent performance the home team came out on top in the finish. Well done to all the boys and girls and a big thank you to the organizers for inviting our team to take part and for the treats afterward. Team: Paddy O’Connor, Tony Ambrose, Patrick Healy, Daniel Hunt, Millie O’Sullivan, Alice O’Sullivan, Mark Ahern, Mark Collins, Tom Mullane, Caoimhe Ahern, Loren Healy & Tadhg Hunt.

Fixtures for


U16 County Final:

Our U16s will play Dromcollogher/Broadford in the Cup County final this Saturday October 7 in Mick Neville Park at 11am. All support for our players and management would be greatly appreciated. There will be a €5 charge at the gate for supporters.


A text will be sent out to all parents regarding the training times for all age groups for this week.

Athea Utd AFC

Reidy Cup (Sun, October 1st)

Athea Utd B (0) 0

Creeves Cel (2) 4

Team: Jonathan Fitzgerald, John Geoghegan, Jason Dalton, Raymond Brouder, Ronan Hayes, Neilo Keane, Eoin Moroney, Morgan O’Connor, Mark Horgan, William Sexton. Subs John Sexton, Peter O’Connor, Brian Sheehy, Eoin Horgan.

Referee Paudie Manning

U14 Division 3 (Sat, September 30th)

GB Rovers 8

Athea Utd 2

Scorers Dara Reidy, Daire O’Shea (pen)

Referee Paul O’Brien


Saturday, October 7th   

U8s away to Askeaton at 2.30pm

U12s home to Rathkeale at 10am

U16s home to Newcastle West Town B at 11.45am

Sunday, October 8th    

Junior As away to Broadford Utd A in Munster Junior at 11.30am


The registration for the 2017-2018 season again remains unchanged from the previous season –
U/8s, U/10s & U/12s €20 per player.
U/14s €25 per player.
U/16s €30 per player.
Juniors As and Bs €50

Underage Family Discount –
There will again be a underage family discount for families of underage players and for each additional child this will be €10.

For example –

An U/16 player and an U/10 player the registration will be €40

An U/14 player and an U/12 player the registration will be €35


U/10s on Mondays 6pm to 7.30pm

U/12s on Mondays 7.30pm to 8.30pm
U/14s on Thursdays 7pm to 8.15pm
U/16s Wednesdays 7pm to 8.15pm
Junior As on Tuesdays 7.30pm to 8.30pm & Fridays 7.30pm to 9pm.

Junior Bs on Wednesdays 7.30pm to 8.30pm.


The results of our weekly lottery draw for Monday, October 2nd are as follows –
Jackpot was €8,200. Numbers drawn 5, 6, 7, 12.

No Jackpot Winner.
Lucky dips to the following – Martin Chawke, Athea. Eileen Cronin, Moyvane. Chawke Grandchildren, Gortnagross. Nora Fitzmaurice, Moyvane. Margaret Stackpoole, Gortnagross.
Sellers Margaret Dalton & Top of the Town
New Jackpot €8,300 at White’s Bar on Monday, October 9th