Athea United Soccer

Premier Division (Sun, December 11th)

Athea Utd 2      Darren Murphy (2)

NCW Rovers 6


Saturday, December 17th     

U12s away to Askeaton at 2pm

NOTE – next youths and junior fixtures will be on January 7th/8th 2017


U/10s on Mondays 7.15pm to 8.15pm

U/12s on Wednesdays 7pm to 8.15pm
U/14s Thursdays 7.30pm to 9pm
Youths on Wednesdays 6.30pm to 7.30pm
Juniors on Tuesdays 7.15pm to 8.30pm and Fridays 7.30pm to 9pm.


Our latest Last Man Standing competition concluded recently with Mathew Tierney and Breda Ahern sharing the €300 prize money which was sponsored by The Top of the Town. Congrats to both our winners. The club sincerely thanks The Top of the Town for their sponsorship.

The club also would like to thank Darren Murphy for compiling all the entries for the LMS and for updating us on a weekly basis.


Athea Utd Schoolboys would like to thank sincerely all who supported our Church Gate Collection last weekend.


Athea Utd are once again organizing a charity tournament on the Astro Turf at The Vales on St Stephens Day. All proceeds this year will go to St Vincent de Paul.

All ages welcome (but must be over 16 to participate). Those interested in playing can give their names along with the €10 entry to Kevin O’Keeffe, John Hunt, Pa Walsh or Tim O’Riordan asap.

The draws for the various teams will be made shortly so if you want to play in the tournament get your name to any of the above asap. Refreshments will also served at The Vales on the day.

Presentations of trophies will take place at The Top of the Town. Teams and tournament rules will be posted prior to the tournament.


The results of our weekly lottery draw for Monday, December 12th are as follows –
Jackpot was €5,800. Numbers drawn 6, 17, 18, 22.

No Jackpot Winner.

Lucky dips to the following – Ellen Quille, Athea. Anne & Noel White, Rathkeale. Breda Hayes, Lower Athea. Margaret Reidy, Upper Athea. Kitty Griffin, Tarbert

€50 Xmas Prize Aileen Leslie, Ardagh.

Sellers Margaret Dalton & Margaret Reidy
New Jackpot €5,900 at Brown Joe’s on Monday, December 19th

Athea GAA


County U21 A Football Semi-Final:

Saturday December 3rd:

Athea/Mountcollins Ranger 0-10      Tory Gaels 3-11

Athea/Mountcollins Rangers were well beaten and knocked out of the County U21 A competition by Tory Gaels in Mick Neville Park on Sunday last. Our unbeaten run came to an end and we can have no complaints as they were a much better team on the day. Tory Gaels led four points to three after fifteen minutes, Stephen Cahill and Sean Ryan Athea/Mountcollins scorers. Then the opposition hit a purple patch scoring three goals on the trot to take a commanding lead. We battled back scoring four points to leave six between the sides at the break. Stephen Cahill with two frees, Mikie O’Mahony and William Mullane with one each from play. There was a mountain to climb in the second half, but it was a mountain too high as the opposition added to their advantage early in the half. Mikie O’Mahony, Jason Kelly and Stephen Cahill were our only scorers in the second half and the final score read Athea/Mountcollins Rangers 0-10, Tory Gaels 3-11. We would like to thank Noel Barry, Michael Lenihan and James Brouder for looking after the team, they did a great job winning the West A title and getting the team to the County Semi-Final. Many thanks to all the players who often had to travel long distances to play a match, it is greatly appreciated by both clubs.

Panel: Kieran Harnett, Conor Moroney, Jamie Lenihan, Micheál Ambrose, William Mullane (0-01), Dylan Griffin, Tommy Quaid, Jonathan Fitzgerald, Stephen Cahill (0-05), Jason Kelly (0-01), Mikie O’Mahony (0-02), Padraic Walsh, James Ryan, Sean Ryan(0-01) Denny Buckley. Subs: Jason Dalton, John Lenihan, Jack Vaughan & Daniel Brosnahan
Our final card game before Christmas will take place next Monday night at the Top of the Town bar and there will be extra prizes on offer on the night. The winners of last Monday night’s cards with sixteen games were Gerard O’ Connor, Pat O’Sullivan and Patie Ahern. In second place with thirteen games were Tom O’Connor John Joe O’Connor and Seanie Hanrahan. The winners of the table prize Mossy Ahern, Larry McAuliffe and Margaret McAuliffe. The raffle prize winners were Joe Murphy, Mike Sheahan and James O’ Connor. Many thanks to all those who supported our card again this week.

Club Draw:

Our final Club draw will take place this Saturday night December 17th at Dick White’s Bar. Everyone is welcome to attend. A big thank you to all those who have supported our Club draw again this year.

Athea Coiste na nÓg:

Annual Coiste na nÓg Table Quiz.

We will hold our Annual table quiz in the Top of the Town Bar on Wednesday night, December 28th. John Hunt will be our quizmaster and there will be plenty of spot prizes on the night. This is a great fun night out and all support would be greatly appreciated on the night.