Athea GAA


Our A.G.M. took place in the Clubhouse on Saturday night last and there was a large crowd in attendance. Chairman Paul Curry welcomed everyone and Secretary Jacqueline O’Connor read out the minutes of last year’s AGM. Jacqueline then gave a very detailed account on the year gone by in her secretary’s report. Our recently elected treasurer Mairead Donovan also gave a detailed account in her treasures report. Paul Curry thanked everyone who helped out the Club during the year in his chairman’s address and had a special mention for Mike O’Connor and Jim O’Sullivan who have stepped down from the executive committee after many years of dedication to the club. Everyone enjoyed the light refreshments afterwards and also browsing through some of the old photos on display. The following officers were elected on the night:

Chairman: Paul Curry.

Assistant Chairman: Kevin O’Keeffe,

Secretary: Jacqueline O’Connor,

Assistant Secretary: Paul Collins,

Treasurer: Mairead Donovan,

Assistant Treasurer: Roger Ryan,

P.R.O.: David O’Connor


U21 Premier Football Championship

Friday November 14:

Athea/Mountcollins Rangers 2-05         Ballybrown 2-08

Our U21s were beaten for the second time this year when a late Ballybrown goal gave them a three point win on Friday night last in Mick Neville Park. Ballybrown opened the scoring with a point but Matthew Brouder finished well when he rose the green flag shortly afterwards. Kevin Murphy then added a point after great work by Mark O’ Connor. Ballybrown hit back with a goal and two points before we could register our next point thanks to a free from Shane Mulvihill. Just before half time, the opposition scored another point to leave the half time score Athea/Mountcollins Rangers 1-02, Ballybrown 1-04.  Kevin Murphy was first on the scoreboard after the break when he scored a brilliant point. Ballybrown hit a purple patch and scored four unanswered points to lead by five points midway through the half. Our boys did not give up, a point from Pa Delee was soon followed up by the score of the night when Mark O’ Connor scored a super goal after great work by Stephen Cahill, Mikie O’Mahony and Kevin Murphy. The sides were level shortly afterwards when Pa Delee converted a free from thirty yards. With time almost up a high ball in from Ballybrown hit the post and the full forward was quickest to react and finished to the back of our net to leave the final score Athea/Mountcollins Rangers 2-05, Ballybrown 2-08.  We will now play last year’s champions Rathkeale/Cappagh in the Quarter- final this Friday night under lights in Mick Neville Park. Team: Jonathan Fitzgerald, Timmy Finnegan, Jamie Lenihan, Diarmuid Flanagan, Jason O’Flaherty, Dylan Griffin, Cian O’ Sullivan, Mark O’Connor, Stephen Cahill, Shane Mulvihill, Pa Delee, Ryan Carroll, Kevin Murphy, Matthew Brouder, Kevin O’Mahony, Daniel Brosnahan, Padraig Collins, Johnny Stack, Padraic Walsh, Mikie O’Mahony & Kieran Hartnett.

Fixtures for December;

U21 Premier Football Championship Quarter-Final:

Athea/Mountcollins Rangers will play Rathkeale/Cappagh in the Quarter-final of the U21 premier football championship this Friday December 5 in Mick Neville Park at 8.30pm. All support greatly appreciated.

Munster Final:

The Club would like to wish our near neighbours Glin all the best in the Junior A Munster Football Final this Sunday December 7 against North Kerry side Brosna in Mallow.

Club Draw 2014:

Our next Club draw will take place at Gerard Whites Bar this Saturday night December 6.

Athea Coiste na nÓg:

Coaching Academy in the Hall:

Coaching for Junior Infants and Senior Infants will continue this Wednesday evening December 3 at 6pm until 7pm in the Con Colbert Community Hall. There will be a charge of €2 per child and all players must have gum shields.

Calendar 2015:

This year’s Calendar will be on sale shortly and is once again bursting with over one hundred team, action and assorted photographs from the year gone by. This wonderful production at a cost of only €5 would make a lovely Christmas present for anyone at home or abroad.

Athea United Soccer


U16 Cup

GB Rovers 1   Athea Utd. 0

Team: Timothy Tierney, Seamus Leahy, Michael Dalton, Cillian Liston, Michael Ambrose, Daniel McEldowney, John Sexton, Shane Dalton, Jack Vaughan, Andy Ahern, Milan Williams. Sub used: Sean Ryan. 


Athea Utd. (0) 1  Carrig Celtic (1) 3

Scorer: Shane Mulvihill

Team: Shane Mulvihill, Matthew Tierney, Padraig Reidy, Tom Collins, Mike Reidy, Jamie Collins, Ger Ahern, Mike Twomey, Maurice Hayes, Kevin Murphy, Mark Horgan 


Athea Utd. (3) 4   Pallaskenry (2) 4

Athea Scorers: Eoin O’Shea, four goals.

Team: Gavin Mulvihill, Gearoid O’Sullivan, Brandon Finucane, Michael Tierney, Gavin Ambrose, Pauric Enright, Andrew O’Riordan, T.J. Hunt, Eoin O’Shea, Daire O’Shea, Pierse O’Brien. Subs: Shane Scanlon, Fionn O’Connell, Shauna Sweeney, Jack Vaughan


Saturday, December 6th.

U-11s away t0 Shannonside in the cup at 11.30am (in Aughinish Alumina pitch).

U-14s home to Creeves in the cup at 2.30pm.


Athea Utd will be starting up an U8 Academy beginning on Saturday, January 10th 2015. Anyone interested in joining the Academy are asked to give their names to Pa Walsh on (087)9127263. Also any person in helping out in any way can contact Pa for further details on the Academy.


Following on from the very successful St Stephen’s Day tournaments over the past few years Athea Utd will again be taking to the astro turf for another fundraiser. This St Stephen’s Day tournament run by Athea Utd will see all proceeds going to the Irish Kidney Association.

Entry is again €10 per person and is limited to 64 players so those interested should give their names with the €10 entry fee to Pa Walsh, Kevin O’Keeffe, John Hunt or Brian Sheehy before Monday, December 1st. No names will be accepted after this date. Entry fee must also be paid before December 1st.

Mondays 10am to 3pm. Wednesdays 10am to 3pm. Fridays 10am to 3pm.
Monday – Friday nights from 7pm to 9.30pm.
Saturdays from 10am to 2am.

Athea Utd Schoolboys will be having its Church Gate Collection on the weekend of  December 13th and December 14th


The results of our weekly lottery draw for Monday, December 1st.  at White’s Bar are as follows –
Jackpot was €16,700. Numbers drawn 4,  6,  8,  10..      No Jackpot Winner.
Lucky dips to the following

Liam O’Keeffe,  c/o Madigan’s Bus Hire

Martina O’Connor, Glin

Breda Dillane,      Abbeyfeale

Kathleen Sheehy, Croagh

Bridie Brouder, Gale View

€50 Christmas Dip: Eamon O’Sullivan, Bally

Seller’s Prizes: Agatha Barrett & Marian Chawke

New jackpot will be €16,800 at Brown Joe’s Bar on Monday, December 8th.
Tickets €2 each or three for €5