Athea Utd.

by Pat Mulvihill

Youths Division 1

Abbeyfeale Utd   (1) 1

Athea Utd        (0) 1     Maurice Hayes (pen)

Team: Mark O’Connor, Gary Vaughan, Jamie Sheehan, Aaron O’Connor, Rici Hanley, Ian Murphy, Maurice Hayes, Kevin Murphy, Ryan Carroll, Dylan Griffin, Michael Woods. Subs Liam O’Connor, Sonny Sheehan.

Referee: Pat O’Donnell

U/12 Division 2

Athea Utd     (0) 1             Shane Dalton

Granagh       (1) 1

Team: Cathal O’Brien, David O’Connor, Shane Ambrose, Michael Dalton, David O’Sullivan, John Sexton, Jack O’Connor, Seamus Leahy, Jason Dillon, Shane Dalton, Andy Ahern. Subs Micah O’Connell, Ryan O’Connell, Grace Ryan,

Referee: Jim Molyneaux.


U/11 Cup

St Itas    (0) 0

Athea Utd  (1) 3           John Sexton 2, (1 pen), Jack O’Connor

Team: David O’Connor, John Sexton, Jack O’Connor, Seamus Leahy, Jason Dillon, Micah O’Connell, Ryan O’Connell, Grace Ryan, Eoin Sheahan, Andrew O’Riordan, Eoin O’Shea, Danny Brady, Evan Wallace

Referee: Colm Dalton.



U14s home to Adare Utd CALLED OFF.

U16s home to Kildimo Utd in the cup CALLED OFF.



Saturday, January 7th

U12s home to Kildimo Utd at 11.30am.

U16s home to Kildimo Utd in the cup at 1pm.


Sunday, January 8th

Junior As home to Carrig Celtic at 11.30am.



U/10s on Wednesdays 6 to 7pm

U/12s on Thursdays 6 to 7pm

U/14s on Monday 6 to 7pm.

U/16s on Thursdays 7pm to 8.30pm.

Youths on Mondays and Wednesdays 7 to 8.30pm.

Junior As & Bs on Tuesdays and Fridays 7 to 10pm.


Athea Utd 7 A Side Soccer Tournament

Athea Utd ran a very successful 7 A Side Soccer Tournament on the Astroturf Pitch at The Vales on St Stephens Day with funds raised on the day equally divided between Bothar and Athea Utd Schoolboys. The Ahern Brothers Cup and Trophies for the winners and runners up will be presented after the tournament at The Top of The Town and we would like to thank The Top of The Town for sponsoring the trophies for the winners and runners up. A hugh thanks to all involved in the running of the tournament from its inception up to its very successful conclusion.



The results of our lottery draw for Monday, January 2nd at The Top of the Town are as follows – Jackpot was €5000. Numbers drawn were 1, 7, 16, 19.

There was no jackpot winner.

Lucky Dips to Tony O’Halloran, Athea. Betty Gaire, Duagh. Mike Molyneaux, Ardagh. Peter O’Connor, Ardagh. Jack Harold, Ardagh.

Sellers Declan Barrett & Pat Mulvihill.

New jackpot will be €5100 on Monday, January 9th at Donie’s.




, Denis Collins [Chairman], Neddie Hunt [President] & Áine Reidy [Treasurer] “]

Minors Medal Presentation


On Friday 23rd December at the Top of the Town, our victorious minor panel were presented with their medals for winning the West A Championship.


Noel Barry, their manager, presented the medals and it was officiated by our Chairman Denis Collins. Congratulations to all players on their achievement and let’s hope more success will follow up next year in the adult grades.


The Athea Panel:


Jonathan Fitzgerald, Mark Horgan, Mark O’ Connor,  Thomas Sexton, Michael Mullane, Shane Mulvihill, Denis Greaney [Capt], Kevin Mahony, Kevin Murphy, Ryan Carroll, Maurice Hayes, Liam O’ Brien, Dylan Griffin, Jamie O’ Brien, Gary Vaughan


Club Draw Results


Prize: No:    Name/Address


€ 400   57    Joe McGrathTurraree, Glin

€ 250  142   Noel & Mary RiordanClash

€ 150    2     Denis CollinsChurchtown

€ 150  300   Mossie WoulfeTempleathea

€ 150  118   Mary O’ MahonyHillside Drive

€ 150    93   Mike Hussy & Sarah StackBallyduff

€ 50 Promoters Prize: Mike O’Connor, Upper Athea